What area of Acoustics needs further research?

Author
mattplaysguitar
Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1992
2009/07/23 23:59:08 (permalink)

What area of Acoustics needs further research?

I am studying at University, doing my last year of Mechanical Engineering. I am taking a course entitled 'Industrial Noise and Control'. It's all about acoustics - specifically on the reduction of noise - especially through walls. The maths side and practical side of it all. As a requirement of my degree, I need to do a study which goes for one year, in detail, in an area of interest. I have an academic who wishes to supervise me for a noise related project, starting next year. He suggested I try and find a project I can work on and he will then be my supervisor. He is the academic for this Industrial Noise class I am taking. Now I need to come up with a project. No idea if the academic can get a decent grant from the University or not (Monash University in Clayton, Melbourne, FYI). He is a busy man, so I really need to come up with something first then refine the problem with him. Basic tools like high quality SPL meters are available to me. I have a feeling we may have an anechoic chamber, but not totally sure.

So, that's the background. Any suggestions for possible research projects? All I can think of at the moment is research on optimising noise reduction through walls using cheap materials and thin walls. Only that's going to need a decent grant from the university to get anywhere. I have a few months to try and come up with something.

Currently recording my first album, so if you like my music, please follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/mattlyonsmusic

www.mattlyonsmusic.com 

5 Replies Related Threads

gamblerschoice
    Max Output Level: -43 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3226
    Re:What area of Acoustics needs further research? 2009/07/24 00:51:31 (permalink)
    ..."optimizing noise reduction through walls using cheap materials and thin walls"...