What should I do with vocals?

Author
ZacAimson
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2014/08/09 17:55:35 (permalink)

What should I do with vocals?

Hello, 
I've only just joined on this forum so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place or something. I am in the process of recording my own music and I've got quite fast at recording track sand editing them, panning them etc but it always ends up sounding quite amateur. I'm not particularity knowledgeable as I am quite new to this and don't know a lot of the terminology. So my question is, how would i go about making vocal tracks sound a lot better and professional?

6 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re: What should I do with vocals? 2014/08/09 18:02:52 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum. I assume you have music creator and need some advice.

Vocals are and can be a bit tricky to get right because there are so many variables that can make them sound less than professional from the mic and the gear, to adding fx that ruin the mix or the performance itself is less than stellar. You need to determine which of those it is.

One way we could help would be to hear the vocals in question. However, you need to load them up to a music site such as sound cloud or some other.... and post the link here..... but until you get 25 posts....active links are not permitted so..... you need to type it out like this:  www dot name_of_site dot com and we can figure it out. Listening is the best way for us to know what advice to offer.

My website & music: www.herbhartley.com

MC4/5/6/X1e.c, on a Custom DAW   
    Focusrite Firewire Saffire Interface

BMI/NSAI

"Just as the blade chooses the warrior, so too, the song chooses the writer 
    Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re: What should I do with vocals? 2014/08/10 06:33:43 (permalink)