Helpful ReplyWhats next? and first question! TOTAL NEWBIE ALERT!!!!!

Author
FemcanLana
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 47
2017/03/16 18:38:09 (permalink)

Whats next? and first question! TOTAL NEWBIE ALERT!!!!!

First just a little about me! Sorry for the novel!

I am a long time lurker and this is my first post! I am the type to learn things myself first then ask dumb questions lol

I went from Acid pro 7 to Studio one "upgraded to artist" and reaper "never upgraded past the demo with reaper and Sonar x3 "I upgraded to lifetime platinum after awhile".

I wanted to switch because I felt limited with sony pro but had no idea what to switch to. Sonar ended up winning and I am glad!

For some reason Sonar was always easier. So I stuck with it then upgraded to lifetime Platinum. I love sonar and everything is laid out perfectly for me. 

I joined groove3 and studied and I also go on Youtube and study! My only complaint I have is no new YouTube Cakewalk videos on the official channel for learning new stuff :(

Now for the question! Its about mixing music! I should explain what stage I am first lol I am in a metal band and mix a full session! Drums. bass, guitars, keyboards "sometimes" and vocals. Sometimes we end up with 70 stems

Just FYI to get to the point below it took me awhile plus every song I force myself to explore 1 new thing and I dont know what to do next. Which is why I am writing all of this!

So far I get everything organized before I even start! Colour coded and named plus in order! Kick, bass, snare etc I will start a thread on my mixing order next. Id like to know yours

I do a quick balance of everything etc Kick up the middle. overheads L/R etc

I gate any tracks with noise