Which books are best for studying basic harmony and composition theory?

Author
totalrecall
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 21
2017/01/23 07:24:33 (permalink)

Which books are best for studying basic harmony and composition theory?

Hello, everyone

I am an amateur. I have my own compositions, using Cakewalk S/W

but I am not educated in music,
that is, don't know anything about harmony, counterpoint and composition
except a few elementary harmony knowledge

Also, unfortunately I don't know how to play piano nor guitar
I can only play Bach's Suites for Cello Solo, Sonatas and Partitas for Violin Solo
using violin, but I found that doesn't help at all

So could you please recommend me

which books are now famous lecture books in College harmony classes,

books famous for college composition theory??

Thank you in advance
post edited by totalrecall - 2017/01/23 23:40:30

9 Replies Related Threads

dmbaer
    Max Output Level: -49.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2585
    Re: Which book is best for studying basic harmony and composition theory? 2017/01/23 19:41:41 (permalink)
    For harmony, I would recommend Harmonic Materials in Tonal Music by Steinke - that is if you can get a reasonably-priced used copy.  A new copy costs around $140 per volume and there are two volumes.  But I picked mine up used on amazon for maybe 20 bucks apiece.  The reason these books are effective for self-study is that they have ongoing exercises and quizzes that provide immediate feedback of your progress.