Why do the inputs of this CC circuit op-amp need clamping?

Author
elsa
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 15
2017/04/27 08:56:51 (permalink)

Why do the inputs of this CC circuit op-amp need clamping?

I'm studying the constant current circuit of the HP E3610A DC Bench Power Supply. I'm building a supply of similar topology using surface mount components and the LF442 isn't available in a SOIC-8 package. So I need to re-spec this op-amp, which is actually welcome since retracing the full design exercise is half the reason I started the project .

The current error amplifier is the block on the middle right. Note the two clamping diodes across the op amp (1/2 LF442) inputs.
I'm wondering why this op amp would need input clamping diodes?

• The non-inverting input goes to ground (0V wrt +12/-12 supply, S+ in this schematic)
  • The inverting input goes to a summing point which will be at 0V when the current output equals the constant current (CC) set point.
  • The summing point is a 20/1 resistive divider formed by R24 (50K) and R23 (2.5K). R24 receives the set point voltage, 0 to -6V on the top and R23 receives 0 to 0.3V from a 0R1 current sense resistor on the bottom. Worst case (max set point, zero actual current) results in -0.3V applied to inverting terminal.
  • Feedback capacitor C12 is 180pF.
  • So I'm assuming these voltages are unlikely to get too crazy and I'm not seeing any source for violent transients on startup or shutdown. C12 could get charged up to +/- 12V, though, so maybe that's something.
  • The LF442 has a Differential Input Voltage rating of +/- 30V, which I would have thought would be plenty for input protection purposes.

So I'm not seeing why the clamping diodes would be needed. I suppose I'm inclined to think it's to improve the response time of going into and out of CC mode somehow rather than to protect the op-amp inputs.
Can anyone help me understand why the designers might have put them there?

2 Replies Related Threads