Wireless kybd & mouse ?

Author
mrmike
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 24
2005/05/31 11:29:10 (permalink)

Wireless kybd & mouse ?

Is there any type of interference (noise, etc.) that will conflict with digital recording when using a wireless kybd and mouse?

Thanks.

mike

7 Replies Related Threads

wogg
    Max Output Level: -57 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1819
    RE: Wireless kybd & mouse ? 2005/05/31 11:35:12 (permalink)
    Nope...

The world is full of RF already. Designers of sound cards and interfaces should understand that and design accordingly, because if they don't, there's thousands of interferance sources just waiting to cause problems... cordless phones, cellular, WiFi, radio, television, HAM radio, CB...

Homepage:
    The World of Wogg

vanceen
    Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 814
    RE: Wireless kybd & mouse ? 2005/05/31 12:57:16 (permalink)
    I've been using a wireless keyboard and mouse for over five years, in three different environments. I've never had any problems with interference.

The only drawback is that when the battery goes, the mouse or keyboard abruptly stops working. If you don't have a replacement handy, that can be frustrating. Other than that, they are great.
    Asseli
    Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 223
    RE: Wireless kybd & mouse ? 2005/06/01 19:25:22 (permalink)
    mrmike, I have a wireless mouse (with a track ball, which i can use with the thumb- it's more ergonomic for me, don't have to push the mouse on the table all the time and I can keep everywhere, near the instrument, for instance). It doesn't disturb the recording. Some people say, that it could be a problem for human's health, if everything is "on wire" and not linked by cables and I think they are not really on the wrong side. But anyhow, the development is going strong on that road:
    Look at this, it's called "TranzPort" and uses radiowaves: www.frontierdesign.com