XLR Mic Cables vs. Speaker Cables

Author
milesbluesky
  • Total Posts : 36
  • Reward points : 0
2009/06/04 13:40:42 (permalink)

XLR Mic Cables vs. Speaker Cables

OK. I know this is a stupid question, but I am a newbie and not afraid to ask. I am setting up my studio to use with Sonar 8 Producer. I just bought some KRK 8 powered monitors with the KRK 10 Sub. I need xlr's to connect the sub and 8's. Went to a little music store close to my house, asked for speaker cables with xlr connectors. Was told that I could use microphone cables for the same purpose. There is no difference. Is that right?

I know I cannot use an instrument cable for speakers. Can I use a mic cable with xlr's to connect the sub to the monitors.

Thanks.

8 Replies Related Threads

ohhey
    Platinum Member
    • Total Posts : 11678
    RE: XLR Mic Cables vs. Speaker Cables 2009/06/04 13:48:24 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: milesbluesky

OK. I know this is a stupid question, but I am a newbie and not afraid to ask. I am setting up my studio to use with Sonar 8 Producer. I just bought some KRK 8 powered monitors with the KRK 10 Sub. I need xlr's to connect the sub and 8's. Went to a little music store close to my house, asked for speaker cables with xlr connectors. Was told that I could use microphone cables for the same purpose. There is no difference. Is that right?

I know I cannot use an instrument cable for speakers. Can I use a mic cable with xlr's to connect the sub to the monitors.

Thanks.

Yes, what you need would be called mic cables or line cables. When dealing with powered speakers you don't call them speaker cables anymore. The real speaker cables are inside the speakers so they are not needed.

You only call them speaker cables when you have passive speakers that require an external amp.
    post edited by ohhey - 2009/06/04 13:49:44
    milesbluesky
    • Total Posts : 36
    RE: XLR Mic Cables vs. Speaker Cables 2009/06/04 13:52:18 (permalink)
    Thanks for the input. Makes sense.