Yamaha MSP5 vs HS80M

Author
rainmaker1011
Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 652
2010/09/30 13:18:04 (permalink)

Yamaha MSP5 vs HS80M

Hi,

I have been using Yamaha MSP5 monitors for about two years and I am very happy with its sound and how my mixes translate on other speakers. However this pair was just borrowed from my friend and he wants them back now.

So I have to decide what monitors to buy. I am willing to spend no more than 500 EUR.

What do you think, should I buy MSP5s as I am used to how they sound or should I give HS80M a try?
Or do you have any better recommendation? 

Thanks

Best Regards,  
Marek

------------------------
  DAW: Sonar Platinum 64bit PE//C2D@3,0GHz//6GB 800MHz RAM//LCD 24'' Samsung //Focusrite Scarlett 8i6//Windows 10 Professional 64bit//Toontrack SD 2.4 x64//NI Scarbee Vintage Keys//NI Alicia's Keys//112db Redline Reverb//Voxengo plugins//EWQL Composer Cloud

12 Replies Related Threads

LJB
    Max Output Level: -60 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1502
    Re:Yamaha MSP5 vs HS80M 2010/10/04 10:25:44 (permalink)
    I don't know about the 5's, but I'll say this: A friend of mine just got rid of his VERY expensive B&W monitors and Bryston amp in favour of a pair of HS80s with HS10 sub. He has excellent ears, so I reckon it should tell you something about the Yammi's. I'm about to get a set too "O)

Ludwig Bouwer, One Big Room Studios.
    --------------------
    Cakewalk
    with all the trimmings / Win 10Pro 64 / Intel i7-7700 / Asus Prime Z270k / 16GB DDR4 / RME HDSP9652 / RME UFX / Black Lion Audio ADA8000 / ART MPA & ART Pro Channel / Focusrite Voicemaster Pro / Aphex 107

Check out my work at www.onebigroom.co.za

rainmaker1011
    Re:Yamaha MSP5 vs HS80M 2010/10/04 16:34:51 (permalink)
    thanks Ludwig for chiming in.