Yamaha MW10C & Sonar?

Author
mrmaton01
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2008/09/18 07:15:57 (permalink)

Yamaha MW10C & Sonar?

Hi, I'm new to the software/mixing department and was curious if people could make a suggestion for me. My favorite DAW is Sonar and I want to stick with it (after many hours learning how things work), but a not so close freind sold me his old Yamaha MW10C (USB Audio Interface) and said it would work with Sonar even though it came bundled with Cubase AI4. Well, I installed it and found it didn't have a dedicated ASIO driver, so I couldn't choose ASIO in Sonars Audio options without loosing everything from the list... Then to make things worse, after I installed the AI4, my Sonar turned to snap, crackle and pop during playback.... I have no clue what happened but something is now WAY OUT... Sync? or something.....

Does anyone have any experience with one of these units? and got it working with Sonar?

I've seen some advertisements for it listing it as not needing drivers, but now I think it's just some ploy by Yamaha/Cubase to try and grab software/hardware market share based on the bundle contents...(ie. sells very cheap for an entry level Audio Interface and includes software to mix on).

I've only been at it for one and a half days, but I'm thinking I'll pass this thing on to eBay ASAP........Hopefully some Cubase lover will pick it up.....
As for me though, any suggestions for an Audio Interface that supports USB/Phantom Power and around the entry level price range??

Thanks for any info.....

8 Replies Related Threads

muso_price
    Max Output Level: -81 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 496
    RE: Yamaha MW10C & Sonar? 2008/09/18 09:09:43 (permalink)
    It should work with SONAR.

Check the website for the drivers although most gear now boasts plug and play compatibility they nearly always require the latest drivers from the manufacturer.

HTH

mrmaton01
    RE: Yamaha MW10C & Sonar? 2008/09/18 09:46:33 (permalink)