could clean audio delete windows explorer

Author
HARDDRlVER
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 121
2017/04/05 23:24:24 (permalink)

could clean audio delete windows explorer

Hello. I'm new to cakewalk. Just practicing getting to know the system. 
A curious thing happened to me last night. I had a few slivers of songs, noting important. I had asked about methods of cleaning unused audio, edits, etc. The 'clean audio' answer came up.
Still not really knowing how to use it, I dug into that option as deep as I could go. There was nothing I could lose by doing it. No real music. Only testing of mics, levels, a few harmonies. No big deal. If for some reason I lost every scrap it wouldn't bother me and I'd learn from it the easy way. I'm not at the system but from what I recall there's quite a few options in that area. I saw the program scan and return a list. I know now that I wasn't reading in cakewalkish. The fact that it read 'these are all cakewalk files' or something to that effect, apparently wasn't so. 
I honestly don't know that what I did created my problem or that it was just time for the problem to happen, but, today when I went to use it, windows explorer would not open. Nor would the recycle bin (win 7). A system restore fixed the issue, but I have a feeling something in that section might have done that. I just have no idea what. Or as I wondered, was it time for Windows to screw up. I just recently did a fresh reformat and install of windows along with cakewalk. Could the scan have returned something that when deleted would've taken windows explorer with it?
Now it's time to be a little more careful. Learn the meaning of the word recurse..

6 Replies Related Threads

WalkerTalker
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 37
    Re: could clean audio delete windows explorer 2017/04/08 12:09:33 (permalink)