hardest time trying to configure midi keyboard

Author
David Haase
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2018/01/27 23:22:30 (permalink)

hardest time trying to configure midi keyboard

Please help. Although I am not new to midi, I am having such a difficult time trying to configure a simple midi keyboard system setup using Sonar X1.  I am a novice musician who had been away from recording and playing for quite a number of years.  Now that I have some time to play and create, I would like to get started again.  Years ago, I was able to call the Cakewalk support center and they were kind enough to configure my setup.  It was working fine.  But recently, I must have changed something in the preference screens and can't get the music keyboard to activate any soft synths.  I could really use some help with what I need to do in getting my simple system configured.  I am trying to use a Korg Poly-800 to communicate with my HP Pavillion windows 7 system via a Tascam US-12mkII.  I watched a few videos on Sonar University, read the Sonar X1 by Scott Garrigus but I am having a lot of trouble.  Any help that can be provided will really help this old rock and roller.  Thanks.   

8 Replies Related Threads

bitman
    Max Output Level: -34 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4105
    Re: hardest time trying to configure midi keyboard 2018/01/28 02:22:36 (permalink)
    You should be plugging the usb keyboard directly into one of the Pavillion's usb ports.
    Windows should acknowledge you did that. If not your keyboard may have a electrical fault or the windows driver in twisted.

If windows sees the keyboard then it should also show up in SONAR's preferences dialog under midi devices. Where if so you can select and get going. Then in midi tracks the keyboard should be available as an input.

Cactus Music
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8424
    Re: hardest time trying to configure midi keyboard 2018/01/28 02:58:59 (permalink)