home studio or sonar? just getting started in home recording

Author
dooo41
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2006/04/11 15:35:06 (permalink)

home studio or sonar? just getting started in home recording

i'm new to home recording and i need a program? been reading up on both HS and sonar and looked at prices..i want to hear from people who got it already? which is better for a me? what can sonar do that home studio can't? anything anyone can give i would appreciate.

thanks

22 Replies Related Threads

papa2004
    Max Output Level: -10.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 6475
    RE: home studio or sonar? just getting started in home recording 2006/04/11 19:15:50 (permalink)
    Why don't you tell us what you want to do, and what kind of computer system you have (and be VERY specific)...Then we can help you...

Regards,
    Papa
    bbarnes
    Max Output Level: -67 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1200
    RE: home studio or sonar? just getting started in home recording 2006/04/11 20:10:56 (permalink)
    Sonar Studio Edition and Producer Edition have many advanced features (and some better effects & DXi's)that would be very useful and time saving in a small project studio or a pro studio. For basic features which are quiet powerful, Sonar Home Studio 4 is an excellent product. Anything you learn in SHS 4 will also apply to Sonar Studio Edition and Producer Edition. It would be best to start off with SHS 4 and later if you need more advanced functionality you can upgrade and maybe save some cash.

Here's a comparison of Sonar Studio Edition and Producer Edition http://www.cakewalk.com/Products/sonar/studio.asp
    Unfortunately SHS 4 is not included in the comparison but you can find out more about it here:
    http://www.cakewalk.com/Products/HomeStudio/features.asp

Bill
    dooo41
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4
    RE: home studio or sonar? just getting started in home recording 2006/04/11 22:28:38 (permalink)