i am new to this and really need some pointers

Author
philliphawthorne
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2005/06/03 12:42:35 (permalink)

i am new to this and really need some pointers

i am new at useing cakewalk first i am using cakewalk homestudio 2002?? should i upgrade?
i import midi from a program called "sibelius" and that works but i am recording multiple guitar tracks to... but when i record it doubles the midi that i import?? and then sounds like crap plus the audio data is always pinging in the red and i cant see the charectoristics of the actual guitar track plus is there a filter or some thing to get rid of that dredfull white niose/silent hum from my guitar i am using a 1957 les paul an ovation celeb deluxe and a standerd strat so any tip or tricks are muchly appreciated ......oh yeah how do get rid of that dam metronome when i record it records the metronome to??? please helpme

7 Replies Related Threads

SurfingMusicMan
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 439
    RE: i am new to this and really need some pointers 2005/06/03 13:43:23 (permalink)
    As far as the "pingin in the red" goes (I'm assuming you mean your audio is clipping), you need to adjust your input levels. That has nothing to do with the software, and upgrading won't help.

As far as the hum goes, we would need to know how you are recording your guitars.

I'm at work, so I can't remember how to turn off the metronome exactly, but its in one of the menus at the top. I'm sure that would be fairly easy to find in the help menu.

I know you have some questions about MIDI, but I'm not to knowledgable about that.

As far as upgrading, what are you wanting to achieve?
    philliphawthorne
    RE: i am new to this and really need some pointers 2005/06/03 16:29:26 (permalink)