laptop or a desktop for my home studio?

Author
syntheticpop
Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 688
2010/10/11 18:13:23 (permalink)

laptop or a desktop for my home studio?

ideally i would like to have both a laptop and a desktop for a stage and studio set-up.  But my budget only permits me to get one of the two for the time being.  Since I'm just starting out, I know that I probably won't need a laptop for stage performances yet.  But laptops are so enticing because they're energy efficient and are more quiet than desktops.  The drawback is that the laptop I configured for the same price as the desktop is a lot less powerful and has half the memory.  But if it will allow me to use it for my main DAW recordings without any glitches -- then I would choose a laptop.  I could also get a cheaper i5 laptop and that would be good enough for stage performances in the future.

My choices are:

a. An i7 desktop

b. An i7 laptop

c. An i5 laptop.  This would be powerful enough for stage performances and will allow me to save some money for a more powerful laptop or desktop for studio use.

21 Replies Related Threads

slartabartfast
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5289
    Re:laptop or a desktop for my home studio? 2010/10/11 19:43:08 (permalink)
    Unless you are prepared to spend waaay more for the equivalent laptop DAW, go with the box, and build it yourself.
    sandman5000
    Max Output Level: -73 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 882
    Re:laptop or a desktop for my home studio? 2010/10/11 22:42:43 (permalink)
    you really don't need to spend a lot for a great DAW laptop these days. For example,  I have an acer 5740 i3 laptop that I only paid $500 for.  I use it with the V Studio 100 and can get latency down to 48 samples,  and trigger ez drummer and ss drums at the same time from my edrums.  While streaming from the internet.  All with no glitches and not even really pushing the cpu at all.