2018/10/20 18:49:01
Johnbee58
I've been making music on my Lenovo i5 for 3 years now.  I've also over the years accumulated quite a few plugins, free and ones I paid for.  When I set up my current system in June 2015 it took me 16 hours to download, install & configure the relatively small amount of software I had back then.  I don't even want to think of how long it would take me now if I ever had to reformat/rebuild or replace my HDD or perhaps even the whole computer with a new one.  It would take WEEKS, for sure!

In an attempt to be pro active, I wonder if anybody here could suggest perhaps some kind of program or technique to make this process faster if (when) I have to reload from scratch.  I do religiously back up EVERYTHING on each project, even things I wouldn't have to, because I always want to have access to anything I need in case of a failure.  I also know that programs like Bandlab Assistant will help set up the DAW as will the other program managers I have such as Toontrack Program Manager, Waves Central, Native Access and others like it, but not all programs have those kind of set up managers (I wish they did.  They are a BIG help).  I also recently made an extensive list of all my plugins and programs to check off at the time.  Does anybody else have any suggestions?  I would appreciate it.
John B

2018/10/20 20:51:27
Jim Roseberry
Acronis True Image Home
I've used it hundreds of times over the past 12+ years.

2018/10/20 20:57:57
fireberd
I make periodic full disc image (all partitions) backups to a separate hard drive (currently a USB connected).  Then if something were to happen either a data corruption or an actual disc failure I can restore from the disc image.
I actually use two external USB drives and alternate the backups (and keep the last two backups).  Maybe overkill but that protects in case one of the USB drives would develop a problem.