2018/11/16 18:16:25
razor
Hey Group--

I'm doing a low-key search into a new PC DAW and just wondered, on average, how often do you buy a new rig?

I'm pretty handy with PC's so I always tend to maintain and upgrade them and make them last way longer than I think they were designed to last. As a pro, I save money. As a con, I get left behind with new, faster technology that would make my music production flow faster and give me more options to have plug-ins/samples running in real time, etc.

Just wondering.
2018/11/16 19:28:41
slartabartfast
The last time I bought a new DAW was after Gibson abandoned Sonar, and before BandLab rescued it. I find it hard to believe I will buy another one until I can no longer run what I have. DAW's are pretty much at the stage of word processors. There has not been a truly useful word processing feature added to MS Word since 2000.
2018/11/16 20:21:26
fireberd
I have a two year old system.  I usually keep them about 5 years then replace.  However, I'm going to build a new one, probably after the 1st of the year.  But, its because the system I have I'll be giving to my daughter for her home business.  The system she has is an old system that was originally a Vista system and on its "last leg".

2018/11/16 21:51:38
DeeringAmps
StudioCat #1 2010; still running strong, is now my office rig.
StudioCat #2 2018; is my studio rig, I can't say enough good things about it!

Talk to Jim at studiocat you will not regret it!

T
2018/11/16 22:31:36
razor
Sounds like I'm pretty similar. About 5 years or maybe a couple more. I do the trickle down with my old rigs too. The bottom goes in the trash, my old studio rig goes in the family room, and the top is replaced in my studio with a new rig.