monitoring / "bleed"

Author
littlesonny
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 43
2005/08/06 18:05:34 (permalink)

monitoring / "bleed"

I am a newbie to forums but have 26 years recording experience including 4 years working with HS. After a two year gap while I moved continents I have built a new PC recording set up and I'm having some teething issues. I have spent days now pouring over every manual, help file, and possible thread on this forum before asking for help. This may sound like the oft asked "bleed" problem but I think it's a slightly different issue. Please bear with me...

The problem:
I can not find a configuration which allows me to monitor the performance being recorded without the backing track being recorded as well. What's different is that I can record without "bleed" as long as I don't want to hear what I'm doing in the cans. BTW, this is not a headphone leakage problem.

The set up:
AMD Athlon 2.2
512mb RAM
Windows XP
Audiophile 2496
Tapco 6306 (poor man's Mackie)
Sonar HS 4

Configuration
Hardware: Line out card > line in tape input mixer
Line out mixer Main > Line in card
I've tried every combination suggested on the forum, plus some, in regard to the switch routing on the mixer.

Software
Windows: There is no "what you hear" option in the control panel/ sound devices/ etc..
There is only one device displayed, the 2496. In the audio properties panel -recording- the volume and advanced tabs are greyed out. In the playback panel the advanced or volume tabs bring up three playbacl\k option, wave, swsynth, and CD. All of these are muted.

M-Audio: Monitor mixer is selected in the patchbay/router panel

Sonar HS 4:
Input drivers > M-audio analog 1/2 and monitor mix. Selecting either one of these alone makes no difference.
Output driver: M-audio analog out 1/2

I hope all the detail helps some kind soul out there provide a solution. At the moment I'm about ready to go down to the pawn shop and buy a TEAC 4 trk.

Many thanks,
Steve