Hi all,

gear:

winxp sp2 amd turion 64 laptop 1gb ram
M-audio fast track pro USB preamp/interface
cubase 3 SE as well as sonar home studio 4
AKG condensor mic
guitar/line6 pod
beyerdynamic headphones

I just bought most of this stuff to try to record for the first time, and I'm not getting any sound on to the laptop.

i'm running directmode out of my line6 pod v2 mono (left) 1/4", into the fast track A input, which is connected via the usb port.
monitoring headphones are plugged into the maudio unit, and produces sound.

everything is installed and hooked up properly, drivers etc (I'm a software engineer for a living, so i'd hope i know what i'm doing when it comes to computers).

ASIO testing passes.

the sound test lets me record a a sample... at least i think it does. the graph responds to my notes and silence, but i don't hear anything when it comes time for playback. possible, that could be my monitor set up and i'll deal with that later... for now i need to get sound onto the laptop

in the softwares, all i record is dead air... well, no, not even dead air.... absolutely nothing. flatline like nothing is even plugged in

I've checked and quadruple checked all the input settings, input device, volume, mutes, etc...

i've treid it in sonar, cubase, and the crap Live 5lite or whatever that comes with the maudio box, and not a single one of them pick up anything when i press record.

i have no idea how to get this to work. anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

5 Replies Related Threads

RobertB
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11256
    RE: no sound... trying to record for first time 2007/01/09 10:09:14 (permalink)
    Since the meter is showing activity, it looks like the signal is getting to the track.
    Did you arm the track? You need to do this before you hit Record.
    Its the button with the circle. When it's red, your track is armed to record.

My Soundclick Page