no sound/input levels when recording audio

Author
dzurolo
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 45
2008/10/25 14:03:44 (permalink)

no sound/input levels when recording audio

Hello, I am fairly new at this, but here goes. I am currently trying to record audio/vocals onto a track, but am not getting any sound. However, I hear sound through my monitors, just not in the audio track. I am guessing it's a soundcard issue, and have tried everything.

My set up

Behringer Mixer-->M-Audio Firewire 410-->Roland RS-5
Computer Dell Dimension 2.00GHZ .99GB
Realtek Sound

5 Replies Related Threads

GrottoRob
    Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 677
    RE: no sound/input levels when recording audio 2008/10/25 14:54:07 (permalink)
    First off- Disable the Realtek device in Windows Device Manager. Make sure you have current drivers loaded for the 410. Start SONAR and run the Wave Profiler under Options>Audio

Before I get ahead of myself......What are you using for monitors/speakers? How are they connected to your 'puter?Which Berry mixer do you have? I assume The RS-5 is connected via MIDI I/O to the 410. You need to record AND PLAYBACK audio through this device as well.

You can hook your speakers to your mixer OR your 410, but you need to tell SONAR to use your 410 exclusively first as yer audio/MIDI device. Realtek sucks for this stuff...

More detailed description of yer setup is necessary to get you sorted. IE:
    I am guessing it's a soundcard issue, and have tried everything.

Like what, specifically? Also, which version of SONAR are you using? Windows XP or Vista?

Rob
    dzurolo
    RE: no sound/input levels when recording audio 2008/10/25 15:15:37 (permalink)
    I have my speakers plugged into the mixer.

I have the Eurorack UB1202FX

Yes, the RS is connected/Midi to the 410. I have my mic connected into the mixer, which runs throught the 410.

Not sure how to disconnect the realtek device. Can't find the windows device manager.