"Broken" or "Shining Light" (you decide)

Author
julibee
Max Output Level: -47 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2826
2011/05/05 17:22:46 (permalink)

"Broken" or "Shining Light" (you decide)

(I don't seem to be able to embed links anymore in the forum... all the editing options are GONE! Whaaa??)

Another of my Swedish friends has asked me to do a song - I've never worked with him before. 
He asked that I first listen to the instrumental and write a lyric/record it as I heard it.  I came up with "Broken".  http://soundcloud.com/julibee/broken  My lyrics/vox, Max's backing.

Then, he asked that I listen to his original and record it as I saw fit, but kept with his original lyric and melody.  So that's what I did, after some very minor vocal re-arranging.  He called his version "Shining Light" (which seems to be a recurring theme with me, at least this week). http://soundcloud.com/julibee/shining-light  Max's Lyric and backing/my vox.

So, this is not really up for mix crits, as I KNOW I'm no great shakes at it, and he'll be mixing it anyway.  In fact, I really just threw this together mix-wise, just for samples. 

The real question is... overall, which song do you prefer? 

I can't make up my mind... But I did just make both of these this morning.  So...  They are raw.

(Edit) I forgot to delete the intro clicks.  sorry.... AND, there's a strange click right before I sing that was on his track in the very beginning.  I couldn't do anything about it...)
post edited by julibee - 2011/05/05 17:25:55

She who must be obeyed. ***New and Improved with a Scarlett 8i6!***
Soundcloud     www.juliannamcduffie.com

10 Replies Related Threads

darylcrowley
    Max Output Level: -48.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2700
    Re:"Broken" or "Shining Light" (you decide) 2011/05/05 19:02:02 (permalink)
    OK.  I liked your version better, melodically it was better.  I liked your words much better.