"record" metronome not in sync with "playback" metronome.

Author
ThinAirDesigns
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9
2011/02/01 13:46:20 (permalink)

"record" metronome not in sync with "playback" metronome.

Folks, I'm new to HS7xl, but have been using Roland VS Daws for years so I'm not new to recording. 

I'm trying to get my feet wet with the PC based recording by recording my MIDI instruments (keys and Vdrums) and then using the sequencer to play them back while mastering my material in my Roland Daw.   Just to repeat, I am currently only using Cakewalk only as a MIDI recorder, editing platform and MIDI playback sequencer -- no audio at this point.

I'm on a rather new, rather well equipped ThinkPad and using a Cakewalk UM-G1 MIDI interface.

I'm an excellent reader of documentation, but am finding that there is much lacking in that regard with Cakewalk and have already had to utilized this forum.  Thanks in advance. 

Across the top of the 'track view' is what I call a "timeline" (not sure if that's the proper Cakewalk term).  It's got the measure numbers and the beat marks and when you hit Record or Play a "Now Line" (again my term) moves from left to right across your tracks and this timeline.  Additionally there is the MBT readout up higher which counts out the project.

If I hit "Play" (with metronome on), the clicks are both in time with the MBT readout and the occur where the Now Line crosses the Beat Markers on the Timeline.  All is as expected.

When I hit "Record" however, I get the requested countdown, but then as the Now Line starts moving, the metronome clicks are almost exactly in the middle of the Timeline Beat Marks and also the same offset from the MBT readout. 

I'm lost as to the cause of this, but it is sure putting a damper on any thoughts I currently have of recording.  How do I get the metromone clicks to go off where they should when recording?

Thanks
JB

11 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS