recording audio tracks

Author
jpartrick
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 16
2008/10/06 23:23:32 (permalink)

recording audio tracks

Hi everyone. I'm a bigtime newbie! I am trying to get up to speed on MC4. I recorded several audio tracks in several different files and everything seemed to be fine. When trying to record some new ones in the same file or a new file I could only get a left or right channel recorded instead of being able to record in stereo. my mic is indicating a stereo input but I don't know what else I am missing. Any pointers?

7 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    RE: recording audio tracks 2008/10/07 00:12:01 (permalink)
    Microphones and guitars are mono devices. Some older keyboards, too. Don't record them on a stereo track or you'll only hear it on one side. Use the mono or left input. Then you should be able to hear it on both sides.
    Sounds kinda nonintuitive doesn't it? To hear a stereo sound record in mono.

Greg 
    I am selling my MIM Fender Stratocaster HSS, red and black. PM for more details.

Music Creator 2003, MC Pro 24, SONAR Home Studio 6 XL, SONAR  X3e, CbB, Focusrite Saffire, not enough space.
    Everything is better with pie. 

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=609446
    http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/gregfields 
    jpartrick
    • Total Posts : 16
    RE: recording audio tracks 2008/10/07 00:31:32 (permalink)
    Thanks Greg! I'll give it a shot. It's funny though, I was getting a wave file with two separate waves and then I must have done something for it to stop doing that.
    AnonImouS
    • Total Posts : 5
    RE: recording audio tracks 2008/10/07 13:50:13 (permalink)
    Um... can you try and remember what it was to get it centered? Because I'm having the same problem right now, lol.