seperating inputs (newB)

Author
Dano the Resistor
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2007/04/17 06:53:36 (permalink)

seperating inputs (newB)

I'm just getting started with my band's demo project. I''ve run live sound and worked in formal recording studios - but I'm older (mid 40's) and it was all analog in those days. While I'm quite pleased with the flexiblity and the sound quality of my Cakewalk - I don't know how - or if - I can seperate the inputs and assign them to different channels. Right now I've miced our drummer - 8 mics in all - but I have only been able to assign it all to one track. I don't have the abilty to manipulate the Toms, for example, after the track has be laid. Does this require additional hardware?

Dano: The "Other" Guitarist

7 Replies Related Threads

poprep
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 71
    RE: seperating inputs (newB) 2007/04/17 08:50:32 (permalink)
    what's the soundcard you're using?
    Dano the Resistor
    RE: seperating inputs (newB) 2007/04/17 17:57:27 (permalink)
    SoundMAX Intigrated Digital Audio

droddey
    Max Output Level: -24 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5147
    RE: seperating inputs (newB) 2007/04/17 18:34:03 (permalink)
    The reason he asked is that you'll need a multi-input audio card, so that you can bring in multiple inputs at once, and assign each track to a different input. Does that SoundMAX card have multiple inputs? If not, you'll have to look at moving up to a higher end sound card (something like an M-Audio Delta1010 is a cost effective option, but there are other higher end ones.)

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Delta1010-main.html
    post edited by droddey - 2007/04/17 18:36:05

Dean Roddey
    Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems
    www.charmedquark.com
    rumleymusic
    Max Output Level: -60 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1533
    RE: seperating inputs (newB) 2007/04/17 18:47:11 (permalink)