Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 Producer software help

Author
rocke
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2009/12/18 07:54:44 (permalink)

Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 Producer software help

I am new at everything here.  I want to get into computer recording and mastering what I record.
I have looked on the net and found several DAW programs, some seem like you need to spend lots of time and money to learn how to use them.  Cakewalk Sonar Producer 8.5  looks very powerful, but I have found training DVD's to help with the learning curve.
I have decided that it  will be 8.5 producer.  With that said,what are :
" VST "
" AU"
"TDM"
can I use any plug-in with 8.5
What are plug-in's that are called " native "
Do I need a Mastering software ( like Sony Sound Forge )
Thanks for any help
Rocke

7 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re:Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 Producer software help 2009/12/18 08:02:37 (permalink)
    Welcome!

I feel that answers to your questions would lead to a very long chain of new questions, so I recommend you go to

tweakheadz.com

There are excellent guides for a newbie about everything concerning home recording. The terminology and different instrument types are all described in language that a normal person can understand.

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
    The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
    bitflipper
    01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
    • Total Posts : 26036
    Re:Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 Producer software help 2009/12/18 10:41:04 (permalink)
    " VST " " AU" "TDM" can I use any plug-in with 8.5 What are plug-in's that are called " native " Do I need a Mastering software ( like Sony Sound Forge )