Helpful ReplyI *HATE* Firewire :( **FIXED***

Author
wormser
Max Output Level: -71 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 984
2010/05/10 21:15:39 (permalink)

I *HATE* Firewire :( **FIXED***

After years of using a Delta 1010 PCI with *ZERO* problems, I decide to purchase an Alesis Master Control which hooks up via firewire. I make sure to get a PCI firewire card (Pyro) with a TI chipset because my mother board Asus P5Q-SE2 does not have a firewire port.

I have had nothing but problems with this set up.
In effect I have turned a perfectly working system into a nightmare.

Between IRQ conflicts, weird crackling noises and just total oddball behavior I finally have sympathy for the various folks who have been complaining for years about problems with various external interfaces.
Seriously, I have never heard my Delta 1010 make a pop or a click and can run Ivory all day long at 64 samples.

I'm not a noob, I've been doing this since 1981 and at least I thought I knew how to trouble shoot these kinds of problems.
I've been humbled by this POS called Firewire.
I think I know where the fire is, and it ain't in the cable...More like where the sun don't shine if you get my drift. (I'm venting here BTW!)...

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.....................

Here is my system specs and remember this works FINE with the Delta card:

Asus P5Q-SE2 board.
Q9400 at 2.66 no overclocking.
4G Dual Channel Memory
4 Samsung 1TB drives SATA

1 Nvidia Quadro FX 540 PCIe graphics (I suspect this a problem, 3.7 Windows 7 Score)
Pyro TI based Firewire 400 PCI card.

Windows 7 x64 Ultimate.

Firewire card is IRQ 18 and shares with one USB controller. Doesn't matter if I disable the controller.

DPC latency all in the green and NEVER a spike.
I run it while all these problems are happening.

All of a sudden Sonar 8.5 will start dropping out, crackling, etc no audio engine problems and no DPC hits with the monitor running. I see NOTHING in any of the Event logs I look at.