The BIG Orchestral Library Shootout * * *

Page: 12345.. > >> Showing page 1 of 13
Author
bitflipper
01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
  • Total Posts : 26036
2010/07/15 18:56:11 (permalink)

The BIG Orchestral Library Shootout * * *

I've been faking real instruments electronically since about 1975, and for that entire time the Holy Grail of synthesis has been the ability to create believable strings. Tomita almost did it back then (on an ARP 2600), and although his strings weren't exactly realistic-sounding they were still gorgeously fat and lush. I tried to copy him but never could. Nobody did, as far as I know.

Of course, nowadays you can pull up a sample and easily duplicate Tomita's once-rare hand-crafted patches, or Vangelis' Blade Runner themes, or the synth lead from Lucky Man, and sound just like the originals.

And yet, despite how far we've come, truly believable strings (and horns) are still somewhat elusive. Lots of synthetic-music makers are still on the hunt, as evidenced by the frequency of "what's the best orchestral library" threads on this and other forums. People are wondering if a) what they have is good enough, b) how much better package X would be, c) how much do they really have to spend, and d) if this is even an achievable goal with current technology? With your help we're going to try and find answers to those questions.

Here's the concept in a nutshell: Randy Bowser has put together a small SONAR project that contains 16 MIDI tracks; you download it and then flesh it out with your favorite orchestral library, and the resulting audio will be posted where everyone can hear and compare the results. The idea is that by using a common MIDI project the primary variable will be the library itself, allowing a true comparison not possible with vendor demos.