V-Vocal question

Author
PGShadow
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 169
2010/10/07 01:32:44 (permalink)

V-Vocal question

Hey folks..Sonar8.5 Pro Newbie here. Enjoying the use of V-vocal very much, (my singer, even more)
  I'm still very new to the pitch "doctoring", and I find it very easy to get carried away with it. I've run into an issue vocal blips and chirps after using the "auto" correct function. I've searched the forum's using key words, to no sucess.  Could someone please tell how to get rid of them, or point me to an indepth tutorial on V-vocal. Tried Youtube, and there was some heplful stuff there...but didnt cover the "chirps"
Any help would be awesome!
Thanks, Kev

18 Replies Related Threads

lorneyb2
    Max Output Level: -58.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1667
    Re:V-Vocal question 2010/10/07 02:06:39 (permalink)
    A couple of things come to mind.  If the note is being slid into(slur) it may show up as 2 separate notes or note parts so you would likely want to select both components and slide them up equally so that the main body of the note is pitch correct but allows for the original slur without the big jump to the corrected note.  Also make sure you sense setting is only between 0 - 20 and vibrato is set at 0 if you don't want any changes in the vibrato but no higher than 20 if you want to reduce it a bit.  Higher settings will give you very artificial sounds.

The second thing that may require and adjustment is the Formant if you are making changes more than 1 semitone.
    ba_midi
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14061
    Re:V-Vocal question 2010/10/07 02:32:25 (permalink)
    Could someone please tell how to get rid of them, or point me to an indepth tutorial on V-vocal.

Have you checked the Sonar Reference Guide?  There's actually quite a few extensive sections in there for V-Vocal.

And the Cakewalk YouTube site also has a few good videos.

Billy Arnell (ba-midi)

http://www.ba-midi.com/music/files