Sonar X1 and Roland Quad Capture

Author
djjhart@aol.com
Max Output Level: -53.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2189
2011/08/04 11:30:22 (permalink)

Sonar X1 and Roland Quad Capture

Yesterday I received my new quad Capture..
 I will add that I have no technical experience with such matters , I am just simply stating what I hear and see..

Ok lets start : 
 The device is bussed powered , it fairly small , very light weight ( not sure if thats a good thing , I noticed it sliding everywhere on my desk, Not biggie ) . It seems to be built fairly good. Time will tell..

Setup:  
 insanely easy.. read the instructions , no brainer there.

Sound output: 
 The main outs are considerably lower than my tascam fw 1884 , I had to pump up my monitors 3 db more to achieve the same output.. And considerably lower than the octo capture I returned 2 months ago.. and alot lower than the Mackie Blackjack . Which seemed to be the loudest of all , Returned that asap because of pops and clicks..

Driver: 
 This is my main reason for buying this card although my tascam sounds nice , I get pops clicks and pause's when my projects start to get full, The quad capture is flawless in playback, Sonar has never been so smooth for me. 

Headphone out:
 Wow I can't believe how low the headphone outs are, Thank God I have Headphone Amp/splitter. with that I have no problems monitoring in my headphones.

Converters / Auto Sense :
 super simple ,But when I used the auto sense feature I had to lower either the input or output as with the standard settings I hear noise , something I was surprise to hear at about -10db , Thats was about the highest I can hit before noise was introduced. Although you don't hear the noise within the mix but soloing it you can hear it, A little adjustment manually to the input or output did the job.

Overall: