Helpful ReplyAnother novice with novice questions.

Author
fridgebuzz
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 15
2012/02/17 19:02:22 (permalink)

Another novice with novice questions.

Hello, new to the forum. New to Cakewalk, but excited over my recent purchase of a VS 100.

I'm a long time musician who is new to the home studio thing, so I'm learning as I go.

So, any help would be appreciated..

I'm running Windows Vista (64 bit), and am in essence, having trouble with the interface between the vs 100 and my laptop. I have downloaded and updated the drivers, but have been un-able to get the version of cakewalk included in the software for the vs 100 to "show up" on my laptop. The files from the software dvd are there, but I'm confused as to how I actually begin running the software, to the point where I can start mic'ing things and recording some tracks. Ignorantly, I assumed a desktop icon would be automatically created after I installed and updated the drivers as well as the production pack, etc, that would allow me to begin using the software on my laptop via the vs 100 hardware. Thus far I've gone as far as installing everything up to page 20 of the manual, where it says:

"1. Power up the SONAR V-STUDIO 100 hardware.

2. The first time you run SONAR, the following message appears: "SONAR VS will now personalize your setting by copying..." Click [OK]"

I power up the hardware (the usb is connected) and nothing happens, I hear the tone that indicates plug and play hardware has been detected, but no program pops up and I am not able run SONAR, so the message that is supposed to appear after I turn on the the vs100 (indicated with nuber "2" above) does not appear. I get nothing beyond the "duh-dun" noise that my laptop recognizes that I've plugged something in to it.