Helpful ReplyRecord without metronome, quantize later

Author
jtbarr
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2013/10/30 18:30:22 (permalink)

Record without metronome, quantize later

Hi All,

I want to record a guide track with my piano in MIDI and audio, without the metronome.... then set markers or something so that I can line it up on note boundaries for quantizing and notation.

this may take some function that alters the tempo to fit?  I don't know.

I normally work with a metronome when laying down tracks, then notate and quantize as needed.... and alter the tempo manually to get the rubato I may want.  This leaves out some emotion though especially in the guide track.

I'm an experienced musician, but I still feel stiffled a bit by the metronome...  I want to work to my inner clock, then slave the system to that...

what is the easiest and/or best way to do this in Sonar X3....

ANYBODY HAVE ANY THOUGHTS?

Thanks,
brundlefly
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 14250
Re: Record without metronome, quantize later 2013/10/30 19:00:26 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby stickman393 2013/11/03 18:02:34
Basically, you have three options:

1 Record a sacrificial guide track with MIDI events on every quarter notes, and use Fit Improvisation to have SONAR create a Tempo map from it. See Fit Improvisation in the Ref. Guide for details.

2. Record an audio track, and use Audiosnap's Set Project from Clip function. Takes a little work to get this done right, and tempo changes will not end up right on measure/beats.

3. Record a normal performance as MIDI and use Set Measure/Beat At Now to align the timeline to it at as many points as necessary. This is the method I use; It's kind of a brute force approach, but generally ends up being the most accurate, and is ultimately no more time-consuming than the "automated" methods.

SONAR Platinum x64, 2x MOTU 2408/PCIe-424  (24-bit, 48kHz)