Alesis MultiMix 16 FireWire

Page: << < ..678910.. > >> Showing page 6 of 11
Author
randy
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 261
RE: Could not open device bus(1F) 2006/07/05 22:05:09 (permalink)
What is the error pointing to, is it the firewire port itself?

You can increse the buffer in the multimix control panel, I would have to look but I think mine is set to 1024.

Is it a 1394 port or a 1394b port?

randy
post edited by randy - 2006/07/06 08:58:34
Emachine
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
RE: Could not open device bus(1F) 2006/07/08 12:17:57 (permalink)
Randy,
I believe the error is pointing to the port. The error either says "cannot get information from dice bus device (1f)" or it will say "cannot open dice bus device (1f)." Just last night it gave me the same error only this time it was dice bus device (2). I am fairly new to all of this and am not sure of the difference between 1394 and 1394b(is the difference speed or simply the number of pins). However, I do know that the cable is a 6 pin to 4 pin (to acomodate my laptop) and the cable is a week old. Is it possible the cable is not the correct speed? Will that make a differnce? I have updated all of the drivers and firmware. I have tried setting my lattencey to almost every option given including 1024. I have disabled anything that might interfer with the connection such as antivirus, firewall, internet, bluetooth, and set everything to the background service. The only thing i can think of that could still be affecting it would be the windows sp2, Is this a possibility? If so, what do i need to get to fix or rather update sp2? Cubase always recognizes the 16 channels, but usually lists the status of connectivity as pending and i have to manually designate channel inputs. Maybe it is just cubase but i just recently purchased sx3 and am getting the same problem i had with sx. Lastly, would the other sound cards interfere with the multimix possibly causing the problem?(I wouldn't think