way OT: Firewall Woes

Author
wrench45us
Max Output Level: -25.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4991
2005/06/10 09:18:08 (permalink)

way OT: Firewall Woes

after 40 hours w/o power folowing a night of severe storms, power was restored last night at my house. so after cleaning the refriogerator an dfrezer I sat down at my computer to go back online and had some problems.

I have a free subscription provided by my ISP to Computer Associates EZ Firewall etc.
That Firewall didn't allow any access to the web. I get a vinmon fault and breakdown of TrueVector (I have no idea what that really means).

On reboot, if I turn that Firewall off and use the Microsoft provided one, web access is fine. The EZ Firewall etc. was recently upgraded but worked before the power outage. I d/led and installed a fresh version and also ran a full virus scan and got the same results.

I'm on a wireless network in my house, so I'm not sure there's much point in having a Firewall anyway. One thing that did change recently was working with an ftp site I had to switch Passive access ftp (or such) off. This occurred to me once I went to bed -- so I didn't try switching that back -- but even then that was also working before the power outage.

I also upgraded to 1 gig of Ram and given some glitches I've seen now and then I'm also suspicious a little of whether or not that RAM is behaving. I'll run the SandraSI benchmark or such on that this weekend.

So can someone educate me on what might be going on and how badly I need for this to work in any case. Thanks.

16 Replies Related Threads

Jim Wright
    Max Output Level: -66 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1218
    RE: way OT: Firewall Woes 2005/06/10 13:03:41 (permalink)
    ??? It sounds like maybe some bits got scrambled -- possibly in CMOS RAM (I'm not sure where EZ Firewall keeps its TrueVector state information, or what it checks against, so this is pretty feeble speculation on my part...)