Helpful ReplyA case against monthly upgrades

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
trtzbass
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 150
2017/09/03 13:17:04 (permalink)

A case against monthly upgrades

Hey fellow SPLATters, hope you're all well and happy.
I have been mulling over this for quite a while and I'm kinda ready to bring my thoughts to your attention and invite a constructive debate.
Before I start explaining my idea, I want to say that of course all my opinions are subjective and offered as a contribution to help making Sonar a better software.
I admit that this post was triggered by the slightly underwhelming update this month.
A bit about me so you know where I'm coming from. I am a very active independent producer / songwriter from London. One of my main gigs is to coach and develop artists that bring me their ideas; on top of that I also do E - sessions and write with major label artists. I own and use Sonar as well as Cubase, S1, Pro Tools, DP9, Bitwig, Samplitude, Reaper and I get to know and interact with Logic and Live workflows because of clients or studios where I go and work. I use all those daws and, spoiler alert, they all have strong points and huge weaknesses, no exception. Me, I'd very much like to use SONAR 100% of the time.
Its core functions are great, the Skylight interface is a beautiful place to work in and, kill me for saying that, it just sounds better. I have mixed the same tune in Sonar, Cubase, Samplitude and S1 and Sonar sounded better. I had a few producer friends doing a blind test and they all concurred.
Now coming to the main topic
I used to enjoy the monthly updates because, as a fellow forum dweller said, it's like Christmas every month. Having said that I appreciate how having a deadline puts the Bakers under pressure to be delivering something at the end of the month.