Realistic drum software

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
ParanoiA
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 747
RE: Realistic drum software 2007/06/13 17:49:54 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: mgh

i'm with ognis, i still wanna know what Paranioa's midi is triggering if it ain't any of the massive drum sample libraries mentioned above...i'm guessing GM??!!!

No, I'm using a soundfont I got years ago...called BlueJay Ambient from Sonic Implants. At least that's where the sounds come from. I use a soft synth than works with my soundfonts. I used a combination of point and click in the staff view in Cakewalk and keyboard playing to write all of my drum parts for years. I tried band in a box once and was more trouble than it was worth.

Since I'm actually a drummer, I now use a crappy ole Yamaha electronic kit. It's a little better. I mean, now I can sit down and really play the drum parts, but the triggering on the kit is horrible and I've had to chunk the soft synth soundfont thing since there's way too much latency. Luckily, I've managed to get a good sounding kit together using the yamaha module and recording as .WAVs rather than MIDI.

I'm just biding my time until I can afford a real set with real mic's....so I'll be stuck here for awhile...
mgh
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8594
RE: Realistic drum software 2007/06/13 18:03:50 (permalink)
aha if we ever get the money together to buy a bigger house (uk house size=us garden shed...) i'd love to get a electronic kit and learn to drum. i use dfhs playing thru a midi keyboard, obviously it's more dificult to make it sound like it's played by a real drummer, but i like the fact that you can bounce each drum to different audio tracks as well as get an overhead and ambient mike audio file.