my new used bass

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
tls11823
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 227
RE: my new used bass 2008/09/13 18:33:10 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: mcourter

I'm still a novice, so I imagine I'll try both tunings, just to shake up the mindset, you know...............

Are you saying that you intend to tune each string up a fourth from where it's intended? I wouldn't recommend that - for the sake of the strings or the neck. I would hope the strings would give way before damaging the instrument.

If I misunderstood you, or if you're going to be using strings designed for those notes, please ignore me.
mlockett
Max Output Level: -54.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2099
RE: my new used bass 2008/09/13 18:52:15 (permalink)
If you want a higher tuned version you could by a pack of strings for a 6-string bass, and leave the low B off. The extra string on the sixth string is higher. (You might be able to find individual strings so you don't have to waste one.) Hopefully the different strings fit the nut and bridge OK. You'll probably need to adjust intonation and maybe neck tension afterward.
mcourter
Max Output Level: -41 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3442
RE: my new used bass 2008/09/13 20:27:39 (permalink)
Thanks for all the advice, fellas. As it is I'm currently tuned the traditional way, low B, so danger is averted. I was wondering if the additional string tension might not be good for the neck.

A few guitars, a couple of basses, a MIDI controller, a mandolin, a banjo, a mic, PodFarm2
Unbridled Enthusiasm
 My music: www.Soundclick.com/markcourter
Geokauf
Max Output Level: -72 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 912
RE: my new used bass 2008/09/13 22:23:48 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: mcourter

Once again I'm utterly stymied trying to post pics here. But, in any event, here's a link to pics of my new bass, a Carvin I got on ebay:

http://www.carvinbbs.com/viewtopic.php?t=10370