acoustic vs electronic drums

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
Jonbouy
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 22562
RE: acoustic vs electronic drums 2009/01/30 00:14:26 (permalink)
It's funny kind of irony in that I've never played an electronic kit...because I could never get the hang of it, somehow what you are playing doesn't relate to what is coming out of an amp or PA in the same way as the direct feedback you get off a real kit, which for me was the entire buzz of playing.

I played for a living for 30 years 15 of those in the studio. I WAS the drum machine that several studios got in when the band player wasn't cutting it...but for reasons of health I'd still be at it, rather than doing my utmost to kludge midi which actually is probably the real irony.

I don't remember saying that I don't prefer the sound of a 'live' kit here at all. You can emulate a performance like the example I showed but you can't get it to sound the same by any other means than playing. But I like to have a crack at it every now and then. That particular performance I don't think anyone else but the original performer could play anyway...so I had fun having a stab for the sake of it. If I'm producing a song personally I don't care what I use as long as the result is in keeping with the song otherwise we'd all still be playing chamber music in string quartets if we were all REAL traditionalists that is.

What I did say however that sometimes using a drum machine is the best alternative that someone may have at hand...i.e. if the drummer sucks or you are not equipped to record a full kit well....both of which are common scenarios for most mere mortals that want to write. Not only that as has been mentioned if you are doing dance music you wouldn't hire Pick Withers to lay down the groove surely.