Guitar Tracks 4 Midi tracks

Author
mick roddy
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2013/04/14 19:10:09 (permalink)

Guitar Tracks 4 Midi tracks

Hi
I'm new to all this so first off Hi everyone and second, get ready for some pretty stupid questions.
Ive just got myself a V-Studio 20 with the included guitar tracks software because I liked the look of having a hardware controller designed specifically for a DAW.  Prior to this I have been using Music Creator 6 with a Boss BR800 as an interface/controller but the BR is on the fritz so I decided to go all computer based.

My question is this...

I have just worked out how to use my midi keyboard (M-Audio Oxygen 49) to record a midi track but how do I use the cakewalk sound centre and drop zone plug ins? Or am I just limited to the TTS-1?

Also

Do all midi parts have to be recorded into the 'midi backing track' track at the top?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Cheers

Hang on... I might have sussed it out.  Im guessing the software that came with the v studio is guitar tracks 4 rather than pro 4???
Do I need to upgrade and if so will it allow me to run plug ins like session drummer and play virtual instruments via midi keyboard?
Told you to expect stupid questions!

Thanks 
post edited by bitsleftover - 2013/04/14 19:40:34

6 Replies Related Threads

SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    Re:Guitar Tracks 4 Midi tracks 2013/04/15 03:28:01 (permalink)
    Hi there Michael, welcome to the forum.

I see you've sort of answered your own question, and you are correct - the version of GT4 that is bundled with the VS 20 is pretty limited.

However, there's no need to upgrade to the full 'Pro' version of the software to be able to use all the features of your VS 20. As long as you run the installation disc to install the VS 20's drivers, you will be able to use the included Boss effects, regardless of whether you have GT4 installed or not.