Grounding Rods - urban myth or practical solution?

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
brendantownsend
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 279
RE: Grounding Rods - urban myth or practical solution? 2006/02/27 17:22:18 (permalink)
Hmmm... Just happened across your post Schlieren

quote:

. . . also, there are rectifiers other than those which use diodes? Careful now, you're talking with someone who knows about electronics what they teach in aircraft systems

Brendan. +

What's is this about exactly?

A discussion on studio grounding techniques or how to kit out a 747 with home studio recording equipment, with a bit of personal defamation thrown in? I am of-course not talking about military rectifiers, and I would wager few home PC's would have them . However, I'm not an aircraft engineer but a designer of modern commercial and industrial equipment that is commonplace with 99.9% of electronic equipment used on the ground. Suffice to say, this includes the modern recording studio.

I have served the electronics industry for almost 25 years in a design capacity so I should know just a little of the basics. Currently I work for CSR plc (global leaders in Bluetooth) in a similar capacity, albeit a sort-of hands-on managerial one nowadays. Furthermore, designing out noise considerations involving sensitive bespoke equipment for manufacturing processes is a feat in itself. Did I also mention that I have written technical papers for the IPC?

You said a lot but you didn't say whether or not a grounding rod would help him out or if it was snake-oil to a problem inherent with PSUs. . .