Noel, Brandon and Seth....while you're here....

Page: < 12345 > Showing page 2 of 5
Author
pbognar
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 720
Re:Noel, Brandon and Seth....while you're here.... 2011/01/28 17:32:55 (permalink)
listen

pbognar

I'm in the same boat, however, I'm a musician, not a studio owner.
I wouldn't expect to hear any details on X1b prior to it's release, however, Seth did mention in a thread that there are "fixes" and "enhancements".
Personally, I'm at 8.5.3 and have not yet upgraded to X1, and will not, until I hear how things are in X1b.
In my mind, X1 doesn't exist for me until after X1b is released late Feb, or early March.
If I ran a studio and was running 8.5.3, I would have planned on waiting 4 - 6 months after X1 became stable before employing it to make a living.  I don't mean any disrespect, but I've read comments by other serious studio people using all different DAWs including Sonar, PT, Logic, Cubase, etc. who rarely jump on the latest upgrade of whatever software they are using until they have down time, and they are comfortable that the new release is stable.
MHO.

Many got caught up in the hype (myself included) of the next big improved thing wanting to be the first to have it and using it.  We should have learned from experience not just from X1 - but with many of the musical tools that we use...
@listen:  Are you kidding me?  When a new version of something comes out, I become as obsessive as the next person.  But with this, there are a lot of things involved for me, including  moving to a standalone W7 machine, which will require that I buy a new audio interface.  I want to wait until things have become stable in the X1 world.  Thank goodness for everyone who bought X1, otherwise I wouldn't know when to jump in ;)

@Zyler:  Thanks for offering something to look forward to.

jungfriend
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 746
Re:Noel, Brandon and Seth....while you're here.... 2011/01/28 17:34:47 (permalink)
Alex,