Author
bigjobs9999
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2016/04/29 09:23:17 (permalink)
3 (1)

The DAW super noob learning curve

Hello all :) 
From someone coming from analogue to digital for the first time Sonar is a massive step up.
Im puzzled as to why there isnt more help available for complete beginners? As most of the easily accessible help guides ive seen assume a general to advanced knowledge of DAWs. 
It has taken me a lot of trial and error and google/youtube research to get to a point now where im fairly competent in getting whats in my brain into and out of the other end of Sonar sounding respectable.
With little effort on your part im pretty sure you could document or make an instructional series of videos detailing 'an idiots guide'. This would include a detailed run through of creating ‘your first song’ from a blank page to setting up instruments, learning about recording levels, effects, recording, etc.., explaining all the specific functions on the way in jargon free manner, eg, “what is a bus? This is how you use them”.
A nice easy learning curve rather than the cliff :)
Just a thought..

8 Replies Related Threads

azslow3
    Max Output Level: -42.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3297
    Re: The DAW super noob learning curve 2016/04/29 10:04:20 (permalink)
    +1 (1)
    Sonar has Tutorials for 'your first song' ( 1-9  https://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=SONAR&language=3&help=toc.html ) in the text form.
    Really long and complete video is time/resources consuming to produce, so it is there but it is not for free:
    https://www.groove3.com/sonar-training-video-tutorials
    On the site there are many "basic" videos (like "what is a bus?"), they are not DAW specific. They have "All-Access Pass" for 30day (rather cheap) or one year. Really worse the money.

And finally, do not underestimate Sonar Reference Guide (2000+ pages pdf, installed with Sonar).

Sonar 8LE -> Platinum infinity, REAPER, Windows 10 pro