Which reverb for piano?

Author
musichoo
Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 811
2013/08/19 19:59:02 (permalink)

Which reverb for piano?

Hi guys,
           I am a pianist working on a new age piano solo album. My piano vst is Ivory II and I have been trying to play with different reverbs from Sonar, epicverb, reverbation CM the Valhalla Room demo. So far my conclusion is that perfect space that comes with Sonar gave me the best reverb effect. (Despite being 32 bit it works fine in my 64 bit X2, didn't fare too well in X1 days). Is it because piano work best with convolution reverb? I have been thinking about getting the Valhalla Room but I could not get my piano to sound good with it. IMHO it works great with vocal, drums and strings. 

I am curious about how other cakewalk users use their reverb on piano. What reverb do you use or any settings? Be it a miked acoustic piano or a vst and even a digital piano.
           Thanks ahead of time. BTW I did disable the reverb in Ivory when I tried other reverbs.

Choo Shi-hwei

10 Replies Related Threads

John
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 30467
    Re: Which reverb for piano? 2013/08/19 20:37:29 (permalink)
    I would use a room type reverb. Easy on the wet though. Any good reverb with a room sound should work. All you want is an acoustic space that sounds natural.  

Best
    John
    joden
    Max Output Level: -65 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1263
    Re: Which reverb for piano? 2013/08/19 22:30:50 (permalink)
    as little as possible
    Jeff Evans
    Max Output Level: -24 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5139
    Re: Which reverb for piano? 2013/08/19 22:41:18 (permalink)
    PSP make a great free VST which is a special piano reverb designed for piano. Here:

http://www.pspaudioware.com/plugins/reverbs/psp_pianoverb/