Windows 7 64-bit - Installation and configuration tips?

Author
Tripecac
Max Output Level: -58 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1702
2010/11/10 12:23:47 (permalink)

Windows 7 64-bit - Installation and configuration tips?

Hi, I will be installing Win7 Pro 64 on a new PC which will act as both my DAW and a main PC (browsing, work, games).  The system drive will be a 120GB SSD which I will also use to store Dimension Pro and the other plugins that come with Sonar 8.5 and X1.

This is my first time installing Win7 or a 64-bit OS, and also my first time using a SSD.  I'm therefore wondering what steps I should take to ensure that I install Win7 correctly the first time, and that I keep the SSD maximized.

Do you have any tips on things I need to do before or during the actual installation, as well as post-install tweaks?  I'm a bit paranoid about messing up the SSD by installing Win7 "the wrong way".

Thanks a bunch!

tripecac.com
Sonar Platinum + Komplete 9
Win7 SP1 64bit, Intel i7 950 3.07GHz, 12 GB RAM, M-Audio Delta44 (for Sonar), ASUS Xonar DX (for everything else), Nvidia GTX970, 2xSSD, 3xSATA

13 Replies Related Threads

fsr76
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 56
    Re:Windows 7 64-bit - Installation and configuration tips? 2010/11/10 12:35:40 (permalink)
    From what I understand, Win 7 maintains SSD performance automatically.  The installation of Win 7 on to an SSD is the same as it is for a standard hard drive.  If you run into any issues with the installation of Win 7 on to an SSD, it's more likely a motherboard BIOS or hard drive controller issue.

Fred
    PCAudioLabs
    Rok Box MC
    sven450
    Max Output Level: -72 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 945
    Re:Windows 7 64-bit - Installation and configuration tips? 2010/11/12 14:13:08 (permalink)
    To comment on the "post-installation tweaking",  I have a Win 7 64 system that is an all-in-one as well.  I found Win7 needs no tweaking (unlike XP). 

Be sure all your drivers are the 64 bit versions.