AnsweredCakewalk by Bandlab Update strategy

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
sdwest61275
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10
Re: Cakewalk by Bandlab Update strategy 2018/11/17 01:06:49 (permalink)
I completely understand the OP question.  I am currently using the last published version of Sonar Platinum, including my so-called "Lifetime Upgrades".  My question is this:  Is the final version of Sonar Platinum and the first release of Cakewalk by Bandlab exactly the same except for the third party packages that came bundled with Sonar Platinum?  Would it be wise for me to now discontinue using Sonar Platinum and get on the CbB bandwagon?  It's obvious that I want to continue to get new developments because I purchased "Lifetime Upgrades" for just that reason.

I have been a Sonar Producer/Platinum user for many, many years, beginning with Cakewalk v9.0.  I was happy to see that Bandlab was making CbB available to the Sonar masses, and offering fixes and improvements.  I had no way to know this fact until I stumbled upon this forum.  

So, a little patience with us "masses" please, until we become acclimated as to what's changing and what's staying the same, and what proper name we must call it in order to not be patronized by the more informed among us.  When I saw the way Gibson sold me out, I was pretty disgusted with this product, so much so that I came perilously close to ditching Sonar completely in favor of a competitive DAW, before I accidentally became aware of the ongoing effort to continue Sonar in the form of CbB.  So, only tonight did I learn not to refer to the continued development of my DAW as Sonar.  For me, it's purely semantics and nonsense to argue about that.

Best wishes to all fellow users,
Wade C.
Anderton
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 14070
Re: Cakewalk by Bandlab Update strategy 2018/11/17 01:11:52 (permalink)
abacab
I would be happy to see one decent update a year.