Helpful ReplyCould Some Kind Soul Here PLEASE Help Me!

Page: < 123 Showing page 3 of 3
Author
Studioguy1
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 244
Re: Could Some Kind Soul Here PLEASE Help Me! 2018/05/27 03:19:29 (permalink)
John,
I have been making song demos for many, many years...yeah, I'm old.  It is what it is.  I learned several things over the years, 1.  Every song I write is not meant for my voice or my voice range.  2.  Sometimes it takes putting a different voice on a song, and who knows?  You might realize that your voice was indeed the best suited for the song after all.  I listened several times and the very first thing I would do is transpose the song down a few keys so you don't have to feel as if you are straining to hit notes.  I do that a lot because I have severe allergies and suddenly my range is reduced drastically.  So, I lower the song.  I know one thing, however, after that voice track is made, you might try putting Cakewalk's own Vocal strip.  Not sure how you have your vsts set up, but one of the ways I do it is by manufacturer.  So, I go to the cakewalk folder in the audio vsts area and insert that Vocal Strip.  There are a lot of great vsts out there, but surprisingly, Cakewalk already has included a bunch of them for you.  Also, there are pre-set chains in the Cakewalk Content\Cakewalk Core\FX Chain Presets folder.  A lot of guys recoil at the thought of using pre-sets.  A pre-set only means that somebody who is familiar with the products has given you their settings to start with.  Now that is the key.  Start with a pre-set that sounds somewhat close to what you are looking for and start tweaking a bit.  By the way in that folder that I mentioned there is a folder called Vocals which gives you some choices to try and even one on ProChannel settings.  You will see others too, but I don't want to confuse you too much.  Start simple and work from there.