to record dry or not to record dry

Page: 123 > Showing page 1 of 3
Author
bhooks
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 20
2010/07/01 22:37:27 (permalink)

to record dry or not to record dry

I am new to shs7xl and i have a question for everybody.  Do you record dry and add effects in the software or do you record guitars and such with effects already added. A book I read"guerilla recording" advocated the wet system.  I just wanted to hear some other opinions.

65 Replies Related Threads

Dave King
    Max Output Level: -46.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2862
    Re:to record dry or not to record dry 2010/07/01 22:57:11 (permalink)
    I think most folks record dry and add spatial effects such as reverbs and delays afterwards.

Dave King
    www.davekingmusic.com

SONAR X2 Producer 64-Bit 
    StudioCat PC
    Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1 
    Intel Corel i5 3450 CPU @3.10 GHz 
    RAM 8 GB
    M-Audio Delta 44

M-Audio MidiSport 2x2

AT
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10654
    Re:to record dry or not to record dry 2010/07/01 23:32:52 (permalink)
    Depends.  Guitars and such the player might need his fx to play.  part of the sound, don't cha know.  Same w/ synths.  Sometimes that will clutter up the soundstage w/ each instrument being in a different environment, so be careful.

Vocals and most acoustic instruments - dry.  there will usually be some room tone anyway.  But it is easiest to add the reverb etc. post factum.

I do use comps a lot going in - but only if they are high end.  I often don't even apply compression, but just like the sound of the unit, esp. on transformerless and budget mic pres.

Guerilla recording goes back to the early and analog days, when you had a (severly) limited number of tracks (and outboard) and would print them wet.  I can understand why it is done, but don't really agree w/ the ethos.

@

https://soundcloud.com/a-pleasure-dome
    http://www.bnoir-film.com/