Helpful ReplyNext update SONAR X2B...when...x64bit VS 32bit.. the future of Cakewalk?

Page: < 12345.. > >> Showing page 5 of 7
Author
sharke
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 13933
Re:Next update SONAR X2B...when? 2013/02/20 11:44:52 (permalink)
Good God the sight of assembly language makes me aroused. Well maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration - it does make me semi-pleased though. 

James
Windows 10, Sonar SPlat (64-bit), Intel i7-4930K, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface, AKAI MPK Mini, Roland A-800 Pro, Focusrite VRM Box, Komplete 10 Ultimate, 2012 American Telecaster!
guitardood
Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 413
Re:Next update SONAR X2B...when? 2013/02/20 11:50:41 (permalink)
redbarchetta

guitardood

redbarchetta

@guitardude
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't part of the alure of 64 bit vs 32 bit the ability to move more data more quickly.  Like for fetch operations and what not?

I'm a software developer myself but not a bit twiddler. As said, I didn't like my assembly classes.  Closest I'd ever want to go there again is "C"

I'm sure that's part of it, though with all the caching being done on-die I think the real significant reason for 64-bit is the ability to access more in-memory data.  IMHO, in a streaming app such as Sonar, you could have a 256-bit CPU/OS/Compiler  and it will still stream at whatever speed the disks could provide data.  It's a bit different for the sampling soft-synths which utilize large memory buffers (BFD,Kontakt,Machfive, et al) to load as many samples in ram as possible, primarily to cut down on latency.

Best,

How much memory can Sonar utilize?  Also, have you ran sonar with a SSD? Wondering what kind of performance enhancements you'd get with one of those.