Helpful ReplyWhat Would Make DAWs (Not Just SONAR) Easier to Use?

Page: < 12345.. > >> Showing page 2 of 8
Author
bluzdog
Max Output Level: -56 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1928
Re: What Would Make DAWs (Not Just SONAR) Easier to Use? 2017/06/08 23:21:18 (permalink)
PhilW

Does any DAW builder have a tool that does a "optimize my system for audio" choice? Do any of them have a tool "why can't I hear anything from my DAW" or "why isn't record working?"

Wave Profiler is the closest that I know of: https://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=SONAR%20X2&language=3&help=AudioPerformance.03.html

Rocky
bitflipper
01100010 01101001 01110100 01100110 01101100 01101
  • Total Posts : 26036
Re: What Would Make DAWs (Not Just SONAR) Easier to Use? 2017/06/08 23:30:41 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Resonant Serpent 2017/06/09 02:36:39
Here's an angle no DAW vendor has thought of: reporting.

The kind of software I make my living with might seem far removed from DAWs and other audio tools, but there are more similarities than one might assume. It's all about turning numbers into something real, data into information, be it in the form of sales projections or music. In my world, reports are a big part of that process.

Here's one example: project reports and track sheets. In the days of tape recorders, what did you find affixed to every reel in the vault? A piece of paper (or multiple papers) showing track listings, run times, routing information, effect settings, microphones used, recording dates and times, artist and engineers' names, and other project notes. In the digital world, even more information could be included, such as virtual instruments and elapsed time spent. Some of that information is currently available from SONAR, but not as a nicely formatted report.