Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!)

Page: < 1234 > Showing page 2 of 4
Author
SFSonarBoy
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 129
RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 18:44:36 (permalink)
(I can't handle da truth, but here's why I use SONAR :-)

1) Good ++ (and in some cases excellent) audio AND midi under one roof.
2) Flexibility, with softsynths, dxi, vst, rewire.
3) Extensive routing/bussing possibilities during mixing.
4) Sounds good.
5) Fairly easy to work with and relatively intuitive.
6) Cool stuff I don't use often but comes in handy from time to time (score view/printing).
7) Support a smaller, responsive, cool company whose business practices (licensing, upgrade pricing) I agree with.
8) Plays nice on laptops or desktops.

Steve E.
dcasey
  • Total Posts : 141
RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 18:57:54 (permalink)
I've been using Cakewalk products for roughly 10 years and while I have developed brand loyalty, the main reasons are 1) innovation and steadily improving feature set, 2) quality and stability, and 3) excellent workflow. I've been in commercial software for many years and I recognize a solid development organization when I see one - there is real live engineering going on here. Some folks complain about Sonar not being as feature rich as other products, but keep in mind that more features = more code + more complexity + more bugs. I appreciate the fact that they carefully consider feature requests and not simply bloat the software in order to look good from a checklist perspective.

Dan
LLyons
Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 574
RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 19:04:43 (permalink)
Because -