Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!)

Page: 1234 > Showing page 1 of 4
Author
Spaceduck
Max Output Level: -50.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2499
2005/04/25 11:18:56 (permalink)

Heh, I just realized that the only reason why I've been using Sonar for the past 10 years (starting w/ Cakewalk 5, then 6, Sonar1, 2 and now 4PE) is: I have too many unfinished projects; it would be impossible to convert them to a different format.

I've never tried Cubase, Nuendo, ProTools, etc. so I have no idea what I might be missing. It's the old Windows vs. Linux conundrum. Cakewalk just lucked out that I happened to pick their box off the shelf 10 years ago. Now I'm roped in forever (or until I wrap up all my projects... same thing). Is anyone else the same? Be honest now. Or have you all done careful product comparisons for every release & every competitor?

110 Replies Related Threads

Bigger Lebowski
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 9
    RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 11:24:00 (permalink)
    A good drummer friend of mine has been using Sonar for a year or so now. And he has told me the opposite. He said that he now has more unfinished projects than he has ever had. I can see his point. About a month into this and I already have a few trinkets lying about the place.
    RonsZound
    Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 316
    RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 11:31:41 (permalink)
    1) Reasonably priced.
    2) Good product support.
    3) Product loyalty.
    4) Ease of use. (Does what I need.)
    5) PC based.
    6) Made in the USA!!!
    aruthas
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 88
    RE: Why do you use Sonar? (da truth!) 2005/04/25 11:40:23 (permalink)
    A couple of reasons steered me towards Sonar:
    1) I knew the name (Cakewalk)
    2) I was looking for a low-cost recording software, so I bought Home Studio. Really loved it.