Match that, Cakewalk!

Page: < 12345.. > >> Showing page 4 of 7
Author
AJ_0000
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 738
RE: Match that, Cakewalk! 2008/04/30 21:38:43 (permalink)
Bottom line...Reaper is nowhere near being a finished product. It is nowhere near being a viable alternative to Sonar or any of the other top line DAWs. When you add to that the fact that it's basically the vanity project of a single individual who has no real incentive to continue working on it if/when he gets tired of it, it's hard to argue that it's worth taking seriously. At this point, it is only of interest to people who are idly curious about it or who are, frankly, complete noobs.

As far as the specifics of the program:

- It has very limited MIDI functionality.
- The interface has a wide range of design flaws.
- The design of the program in general--the way it works--is not well thought out. It's just a bunch of functions stacked up in menus.
- It has no "tools", a staple of virtually every windows program that does editing of any kind.
- The audio engine is of suspect quality.

I've been trying it out more since my first post, and that's my opinion. Sorry if you don't like it.
glazfolk
Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5253
RE: Match that, Cakewalk! 2008/04/30 23:40:24 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: AJ_0000

Bottom line...Reaper is ... only of interest to people who are idly curious about it or who are, frankly, complete noobs.

I'm sorry, but statements like this are just plain silly.

I have used Cakewalk (PA and Sonar) for 10 years and Reaper for about a year and a half, both in a professional environment.

Both Sonar and Reaper are good DAWs.

Both are for the most part reliable and stable, though any DAW can and will crash under the right (or should I say "wrong"?) circumstances.

Each has advantages over the other and each has disadvantages.